commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
2 Commando, 24 Wellington Square, Ayr  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information General
BrianWilliamson
Forum Member

I am an amateur historian and recently purchased a building consisting of a 4 storey Georgian townhouse with dance studios to the rear. It transpires that this building was in fact converted by the army in early 20th century and was home to 2 Commando during the Second World War. The "Dance Halls" are in fact a drill hall and rifle range. I am particularly pleased by this connection as many of my friends were in the Royal Marines in the 90's and I have a great admiration of the commandos. I am looking for any info/pictures/stories relating to this building as I intend to create a memorial in the garden to the brave commandos who were based here and educate the local population. Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Brian

BW
Pete
CVA Website Archivist
[Avatar]

Hi Brian

No. 2 Commando moved from Perth to Ayr on the 9th October 1941 in rather rushed circumstances due to their being some trouble in Perth at a Dance Hall between the Polish soldiers there and the Commandos. On arrival in Ayr No.2 Commando was not ready to be housed in billets as normal and so were initially split with 1, 4, and 6 Troops staying temporarily in Churchill Barracks Ayr, the remainder residing in Dam Park Camp and Eglinton House, Ayr. On the 17th October the Commandos were "let loose in Ayr to find their own billets." The initial H.Q. building used was Eglinton House Ayr where the Officers were residing. I believe this is very close to Wellington Square. These details are from the No. 2 Commando War Diary covering that period.