commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Memorabilia-How can you tell it's genuine  XML
Forum Index » Collectors and Memorabilia
John M
CVA Website Manager
[Avatar]

Hi Everyone

I've been collecting memorabilia for the WW2 Commando units for about 4 yrs now and mainly concentrate on my dads units No 12 & no 1 Cdo.

But like everyone at first I was confused as to how to tell the difference between repro and fake items and the real thing.This applies particularly to insignia and the like. I was given a very good tip from a friend who has a massive collection of militaria.

As a rough guide quite simple really old things smell 'OLD' so smelling may seem a strange tip but you will be surprised as to what a good tip it has proven to be. Get yourselves a look at the real thing if possible and compare the smell with a newer fake the difference is quite obvious.

Once you seen touched and smelt the real stuff they'll be no going back.

Good luck folks

John M

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 26/04/2007 15:54:54

Do not speak.....unless it improves on Silence.

A good teacher opens the door.....you must enter yourself.

For Dad No 12 Commando & 4 Troop No 1 Commando
Primus Inter Pares

Commando Veterans Archive site Creator/Sponsor

hockhamlain
Forum Member
[Avatar]