commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Info on WW2 Commando - Tom Kearney  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information General
Shane_Burkhart
Forum Member

All-

I am looking for any information on my uncle Thomas M. Kearney, 2720130, who served with the Commandos in WW2. Tom passed away in the 90s and I did not have an opportunity to interveiw him in depth prior to his passing (he refused to talk about the war - only did a bit to me via phone after my return from DESERT STORM - I'm a US veteran of DS, OEF, OIF). Information I have from my mother is as follows:

Tom enlisted in the Irish Guards in '39, transferred to 5 Troop, No. 8 Commando in '40; participated in raids into Holland (rescuing the Dutch royal family, he was not happy how that turned out), Norway (heavy water facility? talked about going into fjords and Germans firing down from cliffs), Crete, Tobruk, and other locations in North Africa. He did not have a good opinion of many of the officers in No. 8 Commando (probably because many were Guard officers from the aristocracy - use to give grief to his younger brother who as an officer in the Paras).