commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Messages posted by: Pete
Forum Index » Profile for Pete » Messages posted by Pete
Hi Paul and welcome to the CVA.

One of the first questions I always ask is can you let us know what, if any, your connection is to Richard Branigan ( eg. relative, friend, researcher, memorabilia collector, etc). You say you are told that this is a picture of him so indeed that person who told you must have some knowledge of Richard Branigan . Whilst I have no personal knowledge of him I would like to know more about the reason behind your request.

Regards

Pete R.
This video may be of interest, especially the second half:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewAn0BqG3xk&feature=related

Pete R.
Hi Simon and welcome to the CVA

To take your point about No.2 Commando being primarily made up of OR's from Scotland, this is incorrect. In fact No.2 Commando OR's were from all corners of the UK. There were of course many Scots in No.2 just as in other Commando units. At the formation of No.2 Commando 5 troop was known as the Liverpool Scottish troop. However after Operation Chariot that changed as new volunteers arrived to replace all those lost or taken POW. No.11 Commando was known as the Scottish Commando however 11 Commando was relatively short lived as a unit and was disbanded after Operation Flipper. After the war finished all Army Commandos were disbanded leaving initially only the RM Commandos. Since 1961 Army Commandos in 29 and 95 Commandos RA have been deployed along with other newly formed Army Commando Units, such as Engineers/Logistics, in several conflicts, alongside RM Commandos, and still do to the present day, although some units have merged. There was also an Independent Commando, 41 Ind. Commando, that saw action in Korea.

Regards

Pete