commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Messages posted by: MAS96
Forum Index » Profile for MAS96 » Messages posted by MAS96
Merry X Mas and a warm hug to all the CVA comunity :)
If I can help, I've been learning German for about 2 years at school and I still remember something -)
Hi Christine,
I'm from Italy and I'm very interested in this theme, since I'm trying to trace a brief history of cooperation between Italian Partisans and Allied Special Forces. However the matter is quite complex. Due to the nature of their activity, most of the collaboration with the Italian Partisans have been carried out by the SOE, OSS and SAS and it's quite hard to find a trace of Commandos in the Resistance's official history. Moreover, there is a general misunderstanding about the word 'commando': in many accounts or books, it is used as a generic term everytime an Allied soldier was operating between the lines, doesn't matter if he belonged to SAS, OSS, SOE or even Commandos.
However, I would like to suggest you a book: "The Secret War in Italy - Special Forces, Partisans and Covert Operations (1943-1945)" by William Fowler, published by Ian Allan Publishing. It describes the OSS, SOE and SAS activity in Italy, but there also few references to the Commandos.
Do you know to which Commando Unit your dad belonged?

P.s.
I'm sorry about my poor English :)
Does anybody knows if is possible to watch 'Yesterday Channel' online?
I had a look at the channel website but it looks they do not provide any streaming service :(

Thanks,
Stefano

P.s.
I live in Italy
Hi Pete,
yes, I am referring to the Argenta Gap War Cemetery. I'm sorry I did not notice it is already in the database.
In my plans, I would like to be able to visit that Cemetery before the end of this year and to take pictures of each Commando's gravestone: finger crossed! :)