commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Contacting World War 2 Veterans  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information Individuals
[email protected]
Forum Member

Hi,

I hope you no one minds me mailing this forum directly. I wanted to ask if it would be possible for those who are reading this to kindly help me with a research project I have been carrying out for the last 15 years called,The Last of the Few. The research involves contacting those who have served in WW2 to highlight their story, courage and sacrifice, to ensure their words are never forgotten and their sacrifice remembered.

The research project I have carried out on these veterans has allowed me to connect with these brave men to highlight their story; by asking if they would kindly sign and inscribe a book with any words of wisdom/a thought they would like to share with future generations based on their experience. It has provided me the opportunity and honour to highlight their inscription and on some occasions to share time with them and learn about their service and lives. The aim of my research is to share these books and stories with a wider audience, as it is important the next generation are aware of the past and the sacrifices made by the few for the many. The research is to be displayed through a virtual tour and display at the university I work at in Manchester, and eventually to be made available as a learning resource. By providing this opportunity to share, can education take place and hopefully learn from the past.Connecting with the veterans is truly inspirational and my research is now also a passion to highlight their words.