commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
WW2 Commando Signals Cap Badge  XML
Forum Index » Wartime Army Commando Units
Antoine A.
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi

I would really appreciate any help on Commando signals Cap Badges. I understand it was the Jimmy but without the brass encirclement. Did it also have the motto "Certa Cito" at the feet of Mercury or was it a post war modification? I am attaching a picture below.

Many thanks in advance.

Antoine A.
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi Antoine,

I'm not an expert on insignia but as I understand it, during WWII some members of the Royal Corps of Signals took it upon themselves to 'adapt' the cap badge.
As you say, the brass outer circle was removed.

I attach a photo of the intact cap badge (King's Crown) and you can see that if the outer ring is removed there would be no scroll & motto...

I believe the current cap badge of Jimmy and scroll and motto (as you've included above) was introduced in 1946...

nick
[Thumb - signals.jpg]
 Filename signals.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 211 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  437 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 02/09/2018 17:14:35

Nick Collins,

Commando Association Historical Archivist & Photographer.

Proud son of Cpl Mick Collins, 5 Troop, No5 Cdo

"Truly we may say of them, when shall their glory fade?"

[Email]
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

There aren't many clear photos of the cap badge but I think this one may give you a clearer idea...

http://gallery.commandoveterans.org/cdoGallery/v/units/HQ+and+Sigs/Signals+troops/Duffy.jpg.html

Nick

Nick Collins,

[Email]
Pete
CVA Website Archivist
[Avatar]

Signalman Bryan Woolnough, M. B. E. was a Commando signaller. His son has posted some information and documents which include a sketch portrait by an Italian artist created in 1944. Might be of interest.

http://www.warlinks.com/memories/woolnough.php