commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Operation Abercrombie  XML
Forum Index » General Topics
Richard Elbourne
Forum Member

Sgt Veasy's Patrol : Operation Abercrombie April 1942

[img]

Photo kindly supplied by the daughter of Tom Overbury ( centre row second from right) and posted with her permission.

Notes supplied with the photograph :-

Sgt Veasy's Patrol at Boulogne April 1942 (4 Commando)

Right to Left:
Back Row: Furlow, Ennis, Walters
Centre Row: Middleton, Overbury, Cook, Fearless, Jackson, Larment
Front Row: Sgt Benn, Sgt Veasy, Wallace, Rose (medical orderly)

It appears to have been taken at the same location as the 'C' troop photograph in the Archive.

I hope this works as this is my first time trying to upload a photo. Mods please let me know if I need to correct anything.
Pete
CVA Website Archivist
[Avatar]

Hi Richard

Thank you, and please thank Tom Overbury 's daughter ( can you advise us of her name so we can credit the image). Your photo did not display as you cannot post flickr links direct but I have reposted it here.
[Thumb - Sgt Veasy's Patrol at Boulogne April 1942 (4 Commando).jpg]
 Filename Sgt Veasy's Patrol at Boulogne April 1942 (4 Commando).jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 341 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  645 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 04/04/2018 20:46:50

Pete Rogers, son of LSgt Joe Rogers MM & nephew of TSM Ken McAllister. Both No2 Commando.
God and the Soldier, all men adore, In time of danger and not before.
When the danger is passed and all things righted, God is forgotten, and the Soldier slighted.

**** nb. I no longer monitor the pm facility ****
[Email]
Richard Elbourne
Forum Member

Thanks Pete,

Tom's Daughter is Mrs Marianne Ballantyne.

Kind regards

Richard
Stratford upon Avon
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]