commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
ROBERT JACKSON OF SCARBOROUGH - WW2 ARMY COMMANDO?  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information Individuals
shelldrake
Forum Member

Hello,

Brand new on this Forum!!

My Grandfather, Robert JACKSON, born in Scarborough (June 1919-21 not sure which year) enlisted into the Royal Horse Guards (Blues & Royals) during WW2. After a short time he volunteered/transferred/ended up as an Army Commando. He operated in France (prior to the D Day landings), was wounded in action (bayoneted by a German soldier) and spent time in hospital in Germany. After the War he returned to the UK, was Discharged from the military and lived in a village near Scarborough, where he worked with horses. He died 20 years ago and never spoke (to me) about the War, even though I was a serving soldier and had asked him.

I am new to Family History research and would like to know details of his War Service.

Can anyone help me?
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi shelldrake,

Welcome to the CVA Website & Forum.

I'm holidaying down in Welsh West Wales at the moment - far from the madding crowd and with only sporadic access to the internet... Bliss!
This also means I've limited access to my files but will endeavour to search them if I can. Otherwise, I will answer you when i return on Thursday.

The only custodian of WWII service records is the MoD - until the records are released to the public.
The good news is that you can apply to the MoD for your grandfather's records and, for a small fee, you will receive a scan of the original handwritten record from enlistment to discharge.

Here is a link that should guide you through applying for your grandfather's records http://forum.commandoveterans.org/cdoForum/posts/list/179.page

Nick

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 28/07/2017 10:49:38

Nick Collins,