commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
4 Commando Red on Khaki wool opinions  XML
Forum Index » Commando Insignia
Phillip Lockett
Forum Member

Gidday all

I am new to collecting Commando formation signs and cloth shoulder titles.

In Peter Taylor's book Allied Special Forces he shows a 4 Commando Red on khaki wool title worn c 1942.

My question is did they wear this style and is the one I show an original?

I believe its not as it doesn't look like the typical WWII era titles.

cheers

Phill
[Thumb - 4 CDO reverse.JPG]
 Filename 4 CDO reverse.JPG [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 28 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  644 time(s)

[Thumb - 4 CDO.JPG]
 Filename 4 CDO.JPG [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 28 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  637 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 20/05/2016 19:11:08

Phill Lockett
[Email]
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

G'day Phill,

To be honest I wouldn't rely too much on Peter Taylor's information. I am not a collector and am no expert when it come to badges & patches or their authenticity etc. but I do know there are a few mistakes in Peter Taylor's book regarding The Commandos.
We do have a few collectors on the site and I'm sure they drop in shortly to give you the benefit of their knowledge.
I also believe that one of our group is working with Peter Taylor on a new book (or possibly a newer edition of the old book)...

A very good site that I sometimes use when I need expert advice is The British Military Badge Forum - but, again whilst there is a wealth of knowledge on the site there can also be confusion regarding Commando Badges...
http://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/

With regard to the khaki shoulder titles; all I can say is that, having read the War Office directives, held in the National Archives, regarding dress & badges etc, these khaki titles do not conform to the regulation shoulder titles.