commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
William Baker EX1278(T) MNBDO1 L&M Unit  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information Individuals
sjb007
Forum Member

Hi

I am new at this so please forgive me if any information is wrong. I am searching for information on my late father William Baker EX1278(T) who was in the MNBDO1 Landing & Maintenance Unit. He was in Crete, Egypt, Ceylon and South Africa as far as I can ascertain and possibly Libya/Burma. He was hospitalised in Egypt August to October 1942 and was then attached to 23 Division in November 1942 but I cannot find any references or anything about this division and have limited other service information for him.

If there are any members who might be able to point me in the right direction as I have lots of questions - such as how would I find out if he was a commando or not, what colour beret would MNBDO and commandos wear, what is 23 Division???

Would be grateful for any information.

Thanks in advance
Sarah.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 06/05/2012 15:50:21

NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi Sarah,
Welcome to the CVA.
Time is against me today, but I've just a few seconds to send you this link which may help to provide some of the answers to some of your questions.

http://www.royalmarinesmuseum.co.uk/category/researching-family-and-royal-marine-history

Good luck for now,

Nick

Nick Collins,

Commando Association Historical Archivist & Photographer.

Proud son of Cpl Mick Collins, 5 Troop, No5 Cdo

"Truly we may say of them, when shall their glory fade?"

[Email]
sjb007
Forum Member

Hi Nick

Thank you for the link, the info is very helpful and does answer a few of my questions. Can I please come back to you with some more questions?

Best wishes
Sarah
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi Sarah,