commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
3 troop No.2 Commando  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information General
blewis
Forum Member

I am just beginning to research my late fathers military service with No.2 Commando and wondered if there was anyone out there who could help with information to get me going. I have service number and service record book. I understand that at some time he was batman to 'Dickie' Broome.
I would love to hear from anyone with relevant information.
Barbara Lewis
Bob Bishop
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi Barb. We have sent you by private message, copies of our earlier emails to you in the event they went astray.

Attached is a photo of 3 Troop 2 Cdo, Gibralter, possibly March, 1943. The entire 3 Troop is present in this photo. Perhaps you can pick out your Dad, Enoch Sheard, we hope so.

All the best to you
[Thumb - gibralter 5,7,43.jpg]
 Filename gibralter 5,7,43.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 396 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  488 time(s)

blewis
Forum Member

Bob, Many thanks for your swift reply - I'm still reeling. Photo was great too and I was immediately able to pick out the rogue concerned,
I also have a photo of the whole 3 troop No2 but by the nature of the kit I think it was taken in warmer climes. I have now downloaded necessary search documents from MOD and feel I am on the way to finding out what one particular Commando did for his country - he spoke little of it when he was alive.
Many, many thanks for your help and encouragement. I.ll keep you posted if I can.
Bob Bishop
Forum Member
[Avatar]

You are welcome - which one is your Dad?
blewis
Forum Member

Managed to enlarge photo on computer. My Dad is on the right hand side on the end of the front row!
Dusty's son
Forum Member
[Avatar]