commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Pte. Alfred 'Ray' Martin - advice please on researching my Grandad's commando service  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information Individuals
ruthoneale
Forum Member

hi all, my Grandad died when I was 2. My mum recently showed me his commando certificate of service. She doesn't know anything about his wartime service but it has him as serving as a commando from June 1943 to November 1945. His name on the certificate is down as R J Martin (his name was Alfred but he was always known as Ray). His service number is 5670951 and his rank was Pte. Please can someone advise how I can find out more? I've had a look at the nominal rolls on here but haven't seen his name and I've gotten stumped on the conventional websites for searching military service. I'm a novice at this and would appreciate any advice you can give. I know also my Grandad was in the forces before WWII and was in the Indian army I think but I'd love to know more about his life before he settled down in North Wales in 1946 and married my nanna. Many thanks Ruth

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 15/11/2010 15:53:20

Dusty's son
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi Ruth

Welcome to the C.V.A, it happens that your request has come on a very busy weekend for forum moderators as most have been to Ft.William for the annual rememberance day ceremonies.
Here is a link to a page that can give you some information on acquiring your grandfathers records...

http://www.commandoveterans.org/cdoForum/posts/list/179.page

http://www.veterans-uk.info/recordsmedalsbadges.htm

Having his service number is definitely a plus

These links should help get you started , good luck with your search, Be sure to let us know anything you may discover as you may find out something that is a missing piece of someone elses puzzle

Do you have any pictures?