commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
4 Commando Red on Khaki wool opinions  XML
Forum Index » Commando Insignia
JB
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Hi Phill,

I am afraid this is a repro badge. I am collecting army commando since a number of years. I only know black red letters printed or embroidered.

I recommend the British and Commonweath badge forum you can learn a lot and avoid some costly mistakes.

Cheers,
JB

Phillip Lockett wrote:Gidday all

I am new to collecting Commando formation signs and cloth shoulder titles.

In Peter Taylor's book Allied Special Forces he shows a 4 Commando Red on khaki wool title worn c 1942.

My question is did they wear this style and is the one I show an original?

I believe its not as it doesn't look like the typical WWII era titles.

cheers

Phill

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 22/05/2016 18:25:20

Phillip Lockett
Forum Member

Gidday JB

Thank you and I agree its a reproduction or a fake for all of the reasons I outlined.

I have posted on BBF under Formation signs (should of under elite) had 90 views and no response.

Anyway im on a look out for a red on black dark blue 4 commando to finish off my Normandy SSI and FS collection.

Phill

Phill Lockett
[Email]
Bill Harvey
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Dear Phill

"Training for D-Day started and in Christmas 1942 and the new year of 1943 saw No4 move from Troon to Winchester then to Falmouth. D-Day training complete they moved to a marshalling area in Southampton. No4 now with two troops of French Commando landed on D-Day 6 June 1944 at Ouistreham in France. They fought up to 26 August 1944. On the 6 September three months after they landed they came back to Southampton.