commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
X Troop 10 IA Commando  XML
Forum Index » Wartime Army Commando Individuals
Peter Cooper
Forum Member

I think you may have problems tracing his movements after this. He could have moved anywhere in the UK or even overseas. Good luck in your search.

Son of Dennis Cooper, 1 troop 4 Commando.
Wolgang
Forum Member

[quote=Peter Cooper]I think you may have problems tracing his movements after this. He could have moved anywhere in the UK or even overseas. Good luck in your search.[/quote]

Yes, Thanks very much
Garrett
Forum Member

Hello

I'm re-posting this in the hopes I will get a response. I'm a history professor writing a book on X Troop 10 Commando (to come out with a major press). I've interviewed and been in contact with a number of children of X Troopers and have combed all the archives but am still seeking any contacts with children or relatives of X Troopers as my aim with this book is to get the story of this extraordinary group (also called 3 Troop) out to a large readership. If you have any information could you please email me directly: [email protected]

Thank you! Leah Garrett
Ander
Forum Member

Hi Harry. My grandfather wrote a letter to my grandmother in which he mentions the TSM. I'll get a copy in the next couple of weeks and post here- I think you'll find it of interest...
Hedley
Forum Member

Hello Everyone

As we approach the 75th anniversary of D Day, it is appropriate to reflect on the life of Eric Howarth/Erich Nathan.

In the past few years, interest in the Nathan family caused a reexamination of family records and documents and it is now clear that Eric was attached to the No 4 Commando on D Day and was part of the initial assault on Sword Beach at around 7:15 am. The commandos went first and he was one of them. As best as we know 4 members of Number 3, including Erich were part of that group