commando veterans association commando dagger
[Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page  [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
51 Middle East commando/ SIG  XML
Forum Index » Looking for Information General
Mat Heywood
Forum Member

Hello everyone,

My name is Mat Heywood, I am a journalist and film-maker, and I'm currently researching the 51 Middle East commando, a short lived unit, that went on to become a part of Layforce, and some members went on to serve in the SIG.

As you can imagine - I think this is a fascinating and largely unknown part of history, that deserves wider recognition.

I have contacted two surviving members here in Israel/ Palestine (where I'm currently based), but I am desperately keen to get in touch with anyone that can tell me more.

Ideally I'd like to get hold of all the names of 51 ME Commando - officers and men, to try and get in touch with them.

I'm new to researching this, so any help you can offer would be gratefully received.

Many thanks,
Mat
NIC
Forum Member
[Avatar]

Mat Heywood wrote:
I'm currently researching the 51 Middle East commando, a short lived unit, that went on to become a part of Layforce, and some members went on to serve in the SIG.

As you can imagine - I think this is a fascinating and largely unknown part of history, that deserves wider recognition.

I have contacted two surviving members here in Israel/ Palestine (where I'm currently based), but I am desperately keen to get in touch with anyone that can tell me more.

Ideally I'd like to get hold of all the names of 51 ME Commando - officers and men, to try and get in touch with them.

Hi Mat,
Welcome to the CVA.
I have to say you've given yourself a difficult task because, researching the activities of WWII Army Commandos is difficult enough as it is but, as you say, the full story of the ME (Middle East) Commandos is, on the whole, largely unknown.
That you have managed to contact two veterans of ME Commandos is commendable in itself.